Sibelius Society
Board and honorary members
Contacts and membership
Sibelius Monument
   - Photo Exhibition: Monument 50 years
Jean Sibelius Violin Competition
The critical edition: Jean Sibelius Works
Sibelius Medal
Music of Finland concert series 2017
   - Message from the President
International Sibelius conferences
   - Conference 2020
      - Contact
Local and international Sibelius Societies
    - V edizione Sibelius Festival
      Golfo del Tigullio e Riviera

Links – literature about Sibelius



Suomeksi   På svenska





Since 1965 the Society has awarded its Sibelius medal, designed by the scupltress Eila Hiltunen, the same artist who also created the Sibelius monument. The first medal was given to Dr. Urho Kekkonen, the President of the Republic of Finland and the second one to Mrs. Aino Sibelius. The medal is awarded both to individuals and organisations for their outstanding achievements as performers or supporters of Sibelius' music as well as to researchers.

During the recent years the following persons have received the medal:


conductor Sir Simon Rattle

docent Kari Kilpeläinen

museum director Hilkka Helminen

conductor Paavo Järvi

managing director Juha Kurkinen

journalist Vesa Sirén

conductor, Licentiate of Music Pekka Helasvuo

pianist Kikuo Watanabe

researcher Markku Hartikainen

2014   pianist Folke Gräsbeck
2011   opera singer Tom Krause
2010   chairman Andrew Barnett (UK)
2009   the Sibelius Society of Järvenpää
2008   the Sibelius Society of Hämeenlinna

opera singer Jorma Hynninen

opera singer Soile Isokoski

managing director Reijo Kiilunen

chief conductor Jukka-Pekka Saraste

2006   pianist Izumi Tateno

chief conductor Osmo Vänskä

chief conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen

chief conductor Leif Segerstam